Selena Gomez
Mega-stars including Katy PerryJohnny DeppOne DirectionSelena GomezDwayne Johnson and Kristen Stewart reigned as this year’s favourites, winning top honours at Nickelodeon’s 26th Annual Kids’ Choice Awards on Saturday 23 March. Hosted by the biggest kid in Hollywood, Josh Duhamel, the awards were broadcast from the Galen Center at USC in Los Angeles where kids honoured their favourites from the worlds of film, music, sports and television.  This year, a record-breaking 387 million votes were cast around the world in 22 categories.

In the spirit of the star-studded slimefest, Duhamel kicked off the celebration by singing a special Kids’ Choice Awards version of Pitbull’s smash hit “Don't Stop the Party”, as he made his way from the dressing room to the main stage.  Experiencing a series of random celebrity encounters along the way, Duhamel thumb wrestled with Mike “The Miz” Mizanin, was tackled by Jerry Trainor dressed as a yeti, wore the same dress as Fergie, scatted withSteven Tyler and played an elaborate game of rock-paper-scissors with Megan Fox, only to be transformed into Pitbull himself as he reached the stage. 

Johnny Depp
For the first time ever, a special camera gave the fans a 360-degree view of all the action on stage.  Also a first for the messfest, Nickelodeon debuted the “Kids’ Choice Mustache Cam”, a take on the popular “kissing cam”, which featured kids and celebs including Miranda CosgroveDebby Ryan andBridgit Mendler wearing fake funny mustaches, with Duhamel singling out Judd Apatow for having the best real mustache. In a display of his athletic prowess, Duhamel hit the stage wearing Dwight Howard's LA Lakers uniform and challenged Howard to a "Slime Dunk" contest with the winner,Howard, getting a face full of the green goo.  With the wave of a magic wand, Sandra Bullock and Neil Patrick Harris attempted to create a slime-free zone, but their plan backfired and the two were honoured with a dual sliming at the presenters podium.  Duhamel teamed up with Nick Cannon for the Tandem Buttkicking Zipline Sumo Spectacular in a slime-tastic finale thanks to blimp recipient Dwayne Johnson, but Josh Hutcherson and Amanda Seyfried took the prize for the most epic sliming on the show.                                 
Kei$ha performing
In their first-ever live performances at the KCAs, multi-talented global superstars Pitbull, Grammy Award-winning vocalist Christina Aguilera, and Ke$ha ignited the stage.  In addition to “Don’t Stop the Party”, Pitbull performed his explosive hit “Feel This Moment” with Aguilera and a crew of mini lookalike dancers, and found himself drenched by a massive slime fountain at the end of the song.  Ke$ha rocked the stage amid bubbles, confetti and disco balls, with a medley of “We R Who We R” and her new single “C’Mon”.  Not to be outdone, Duhamel, decked out in a milkshake costume, got his groove on with the kids in the audience during a special “Kids’ Choice Shake” dance stunt.
Khloe Kardashian -Odum 

Spongebob Squarepants 
Orange blimps were presented to Johnny Depp for Favourite Movie Actor; Kristen Stewart for Favourite Movie Actress and Favourite Female Buttkicker;The Hunger Games for Favourite Movie and Wreck-It Ralph for Favourite Animated Movie. Dwayne Johnson won top honours for Favourite Male Buttkicker and Adam Sandler took home the blimp for Favourite Voice from an Animated Movie for his role of Dracula in Hotel Transylvania.  In the television categories, Favourite TV Show went to Victorious; Favourite Reality Show to Wipeout; Favourite Cartoon to SpongeBob SquarePants; Favourite TV Actor to Ross Lynch and Favourite TV Actress to Selena Gomez.  In music, top honours went to Katy Perry for Favourite Female Singer; Justin Bieberfor Favourite Male Singer and One Direction nabbed Favourite Music Group and Favourite Song.  Most valuable players LeBron James and Danica Patrick won for Favourite Male Athlete and Favourite Female Athlete, respectively.  The Hunger Games series garnered Favourite Book; Temple Run won Favourite App and Just Dance 4 won for Favourite Videogame.

The star-studded telecast featured additional celebrity participants, including: Steve CarellKristen WiigJaden SmithLucy HaleKaley Cuoco,Darren CrissBig Time Rush, Cory MonteithJennette McCurdyAriana GrandeSofia Grace and RosieGabby DouglasZachary Gordon, Jessica Alba, Kevin Hart, Ashley TisdaleLucas CruikshankScott Baio and the cast of See Dad RunRico Rodriguez and many others.
 "Nothing was off-limits for first-time Kids' Choice Awards host Josh Duhamel, from ziplining across the arena to donning a milkshake costume andSpongeBob's square pants.  This year's host took funny to an entirely new level," said Russell Hicks, President, Content Development and Production, Nickelodeon.
See below for the full list of Nickelodeon’s 26th Annual Kids’ Choice Awards winners:


Favourite TV Show

Favourite Reality Show

Favourite Cartoon
SpongeBob SquarePants

Favourite TV Actor
Ross Lynch (Austin & Ally)

Favourite TV Actress
Selena Gomez (Wizards of Waverly Place)

Favourite Movie
The Hunger Games

Favourite Movie Actor
Johnny Depp (Dark Shadows)

Favourite Movie Actress
Kristen Stewart (The Twilight Saga: Breaking Dawn - Part 2)

Favourite Animated Movie
Wreck-It Ralph

Favourite Voice from an Animated Movie
Adam Sandler (Hotel Transylvania)

Favourite Male Buttkicker
Dwayne Johnson (Journey 2: The Mysterious Island)

Favourite Female Buttkicker
Kristen Stewart (Snow White and the Huntsman)

Favourite Music Group
One Direction

Favourite Male Singer
Justin Bieber

Favourite Female Singer
Katy Perry

Favourite Song
“What Makes You Beautiful” (One Direction)

Favourite Male Athlete
LeBron James

Favourite Female Athlete
Danica Patrick

Favourite Villain
Simon Cowell (The X Factor)

Favourite Book
The Hunger Games series

Favourite Videogame
Just Dance 4

Favourite App
Temple Run

The 2013 Nickelodeon Kids’ Choice Awards premieres on Nickelodeon (DStv Channel 305) on Wednesday 27 March 2013 at 16:45 WAT (repeats: Friday 29 March at 19:15 AT; Sunday 31 March at 11:05 WAT).

Jaden Smith
Kristen Stewart

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post