This week’s Official Naija Top 10 sees MTV Base VJ Ehis (@SpecialSlim) in the studio with DJ Caise from Beat FM as they run through the hottest contemporary music videos in Nigeria. 

At the top of the chart is “Ghostmode” by Phyno feat. Olamide - the first ever number one slot for the Afro hip hop star on MTV Base’s authoritative music chart.

Flanking Ghostmode is former number one “Ihe Neme” by MTV Africa All Stars performer 2Face - enjoying a resurgence as he returns to the number 2 spot.  Other climbers include Lynxxx’s “Ezioku” which moves up one place to number 3, and “Asiko” by Darey Ft Ice Prince & Jozi – now weighing in at number 5.  Former number one Banky W slips to number 4 with “Yes/No”, while Davido’sGobe” holds firm at number 7. 

Every week the Official Naija Top 10 is put together by an elite panel of judges comprising Nigerian broadcasters, music specialists and tastemakers, working with MTV Base to pick the winners and losers in the week’s chart. On the panel are Onos Ariyo, DJ Humility, DJ Jimmy Jatt, DJ Xclusive (Cool FM), Big Time (Rhythm FM), DJ Caise (The Beat FM), Toolz (The Beat FM) and Osagie Alonge (Nigerian Entertainment Today). 

The tenth episode of the Official Naija Top 10 premiered on the MTV Base block on NTA on Friday 10 May, and can be seen on MTV Base (DStv Channel 322) on Tuesday 14 May @22.00 WAT, on AIT on Tuesday 14 May @ 21.30 WAT, and on STV  Thursday 16 May @ 18.00 WAT.  Next week’s chart will be released on Friday 17 May on NTA @ 23.30 WAT.
The MTV Base Official Naija Top 10 10 May – 17 May:
1.  Phyno Feat Olamide - Ghostmode
2. Tuface - Ihe Neme
3. Lynxxx - Eziokwu
4. Banky W - Yes/No
5. Darey - Asiko
6. Tiwa Savage Feat Don Jazzy - Without My Heart
7. Davido - Gobe
8. Ice Prince - More
9. Burna Boy - Tonight
10. L.O.S - Bad Guy P

For further information about The Official Naija Top 10 go to, “like” us on Facebook at or follow us on Twitter @MTVBaseAfrica, using the hashtag #OfficialNaijaChart.

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post