The Central Working Committee for The Future Awards, which is going Africa-wide this season, has formally announced the judges for 2013 awards, as well as the judges for Young Person of the Year - The Africa Prize.

The Africa Prize is presented in partnership with the youth office of the African Union Commission.

The awards are judged over a two-month period, supervised by a central working committee, a board of judges and an independent audit committee - an 8-year rigorous process with checks and balances that has produced many of Nigeria's most prominent young leaders in the past decade.

The Board of Judges is made up of the country's brightest young journalists across print, electronic and online media, and the independent audit committee is made up of distinguished Nigerians across sectors. The committee list is below:


Prof. Uche Azikiwe (MFR), Professor, University of Nigeria Nsukka

Olusegun Adeniyi, Chairman of the Editorial Board, Thisday

Betty Irabor, Editor-in-Chief/Publisher, Genevieve

Leke Alder, Principal Consultant, Alder

Nkiru Olumide-Ojo, Head, Corporate Communication, Forte Oil

Biola Alabi, Managing Director, Mnet Africa

Mo Abudu, Chief Executive, Inspire Africa

Pastor Ituah Ighodalo, Senior Pastor, Trinity House

Dr. Reuben Abati, Special Adviser to the President on Media & Publicity

Fela Durotoye, Chief Executive, Visible Impact

Ndidi Nwuneli (MFR), Founder, LEAP Africa

Funmi Omogbenigun, General Manager, Corporate Affairs, MTN

Segun Odegbami (MON), Chairman, The International Sports Academy

Peace Anyiam Osigwe, Chief Executive, Africa Movie Academy Awards

Enitan Denloye, Director of Communications, Etisalat

Folake Ani-Mumuney, Head, Corporate Communication and Marketing, First Bank Nigeria

Hon. Jibrin Abdulmumuni, Chairman, House of Representatives Committee on Finance

Muhtar Bakare, Chief Executive, Farafina

Jimi Agbaje, Founder, Jaykay Pharmacy

Frank Nweke, Director-General, Nigeria Economic Summit Group

Adeola Azeez, Chairperson, Executive Council, WimBiz

Bolanle Austen-Peters, Chief Executive, Terra Kulture

Detoun Ogwo, Executive Director, AfterSchool Graduate Development Centre

Toni Kan, Managing Partner, Radi8 Creative

Halleluyah Atuyota Akporobomeriere, Comedian & President, Ali Baba Hiccupuray3rd

Adesuwa Onyenokwe, Publisher, TW

Hafsat Abiola-Costello, Special Adviser, Millennium Development Goals, Ogun State

Jummai Umar-Ajijola, Executive Chair, The Business People

Gbenga Sesan, Executive Director, Paradigm Initiative Nigeia


Elikem NutifafaKuenyehia, Managing Director, Oxford & Beaumont Ghana

Chichi Okonjo, Publisher, Ventures Africa

Victoria Trabosh, President, Ithafari Foundation Rwanda



"We're also excited to announce Professor Wole Soyinka, who has supported our work over the past decade, will be leading some of Africa's best to present the winners of this year's awards in August," said Mfon Ekpo, who is chief operating officer of The Future Project."

"The Future Awards salutes exemplary contributions towards the positive shaping of (society) and deserves the commendation of all," Prof. Soyinka has said about the awards. "It serves as inspiration to other members of the youthful generation, and even to more seasoned achievers of the rest of society."


1.The Future Awards Prize in Advocacy & Activism

2.The Future Awards Prize in Science & Technology

3.The Future Awards Prize in Community Action

4.The Future Awards Prize in New Media

5.The Future Awards Prize in Entertainment Talent

6.The Future Awards Prize in Entertainment Enterprise

7.The Future Awards Prize in Journalism

8.The Future Awards Prize in Business

9.The Future Awards Prize in Public Service

10.The Future Awards Prize in Professional Service

11.The Future Awards Prize in Agriculture

12.The Future Awards Prize in Fashion & Style

13.The Future Awards Prize in Arts & Culture

14.The Future Awards Prize in Enterprise Support

15.The Future Awards Prize in Education

16.Young Person of the Year - The Africa Prize

There will be no public voting for The Future Awards 2013. The awards hold in August, 2013.

Media Partners include Channels Television, Silverbird TV, Guardian Life, Nigeria Info, BellaNaija, LindaIkejiBlog, Premium Times, 360Nobs, LadunLiadiBlog, InformationNigeria, Jobberman and Ventures Africa. OfficialMedia Partners are Africa Magic, Cool FM, Wazobia FM and Y!/

For more information, visit @TFAAfrica on Twitter or the website

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post